Auburn’s forestry program was first established as the joint Department of Horticulture-Forestry in 1946. In 1950, the Department of Forestry was created and later accredited by the Society of American Foresters. In 1984, the department was awarded “School” status in recognition of its growing prominence in research, outreach, and undergraduate and graduate education. Fifteen years later, Auburn’s Department of Wildlife Sciences merged with the School of Forestry to create what is now the Auburn University School of Forestry and Wildlife Sciences.

Today, the School of Forestry and Wildlife Sciences, or SFWS as it is commonly known, offers undergraduate and graduate degree programs in a variety of natural resources disciplines. Our undergraduate degree programs include forestry, wildlife sciences, and natural resources management, geospatial and environmental informatics, and graduate degrees at both the masters and PhD levels. In 2018, we anticipate our programs will continue to diversify with the adoption of the sustainable biomaterials and packaging and wildlife enterprise management degree programs. The SFWS also plans to expand to online education with the offering of professional certification programs in the areas of restoration ecology, public health, and forest finance and investments.

To learn more about the SFWS academic, research and outreach programs, we invite you to explore our website, or contact us at